Add a localDefinition to the current Scope

Aug 1, 2011 at 10:08 PM

Hi, I am new to the Cci and I am trying to implement a lock block around existing IL-Instructions.

My current problem is that when I try to add a new LocalVariable:

m_lockToken = new LocalDefinition();
            m_lockToken.Name = host.NameTable.GetNameFor("lockToken");
            m_lockToken.Type = host.PlatformType.SystemBoolean;
            m_lockToken.CompileTimeValue = new CompileTimeConstant() { Type = host.PlatformType.SystemBoolean, Value = false };
            generator.AddVariableToCurrentScope(m_lockToken);

I get a NullReferenceException in ILGenerator line 1100.
 public uint Length {
      get { return this.endLabel.Offset - this.startLabel.Offset; }
    }

Am I doing something wrong here?
Coordinator
Aug 1, 2011 at 11:40 PM

The null reference happens because a scope has been opened but not closed. AddVariableToCurrentScope will start a new scope if none are currently open. But scope closure will not happen automatically. This is an unfortunate inconsistency, but no nice fix springs to mind right now.

Aug 3, 2011 at 8:41 AM

Thank you very much for the quick reply.

generator.EndScope(); really did fix the problem. May be this should be included in the documentation. It would have taken me a lot of time to figure this on my own.

Aug 3, 2011 at 9:41 AM
Edited Aug 3, 2011 at 1:54 PM

The code now compiles, there is however another problem, I don't see the definition of the local variable anywhere and peverify fails with the following message:

[offset 0x00000005] Unable to resolve token. Here is the IL I am getting:

.method public hidebysig instance void  Deposit(int32 amount) cil managed
{
  // Code size       42 (0x2a)
  .maxstack  9
  .locals init (bool V_0)
  IL_0000:  nop
  .try
  {
    IL_0001:  nop
    IL_0002:  ldarg.0
    IL_0003:  ldloca.s   V_0
    IL_0005:  call       void [mscorlib]System.Threading.Monitor::Enter(object,