Regarding static checking.

Jun 22, 2009 at 4:57 PM

I am new to CCI and am trying to work with code instrumentation. Can you help me to get started. I want to know how to wrk on the statement level for instance in this example C# code there is no null check for parameter a, which will result in Exception of it has been instantiated null at run time. I want to know how do I go about finding these conditions using CCI. An example would be appriciated and is there any documentation available which I can look up for the same.

public bool sample(string a, Boolean b)

{

if ((a == "1") && (b))

return true;

else

return false;

}

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Rahul Pandita

Jun 24, 2009 at 8:29 PM

I was able to get to the conditional statement level and obtain an object implementing "IConditionalStatement" by in Visit(IMethodBody methodBody) function of SourceEmitter class of AST sample.  I also figured out the I can get get "IExpression" from it but still am strugling with finding the boundary values for expression. As in the example above I want to know what variables are being used, which are "a" and "b" and what are they being compared to. Can anyone help me in this regard.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Rahul Pandita

Coordinator
Jun 25, 2009 at 2:02 PM

I am not quite clear on what you are tring to do. The statement level (Code Model) is a good fit for adding instrumentation (code) to an existing program. However, code analysis, such as finding which expressions may fail at runtime because of null dereference errors is a much harder problem. Frameworks for doing such analyses have been built on top of CCI, but are not part of CCI. Building such a framework can be years of effort.

Jun 25, 2009 at 3:45 PM

Thank you hermanv,